If you want to regain control of your Kik account or your child’s Kik account, you may be wondering how to permanently delete the app from your device. Some apps make account deletion difficult or impossible, but what about Kik? How many hoops must you jump through to delete the app from your mobile device?
This guide will show you how to permanently or temporarily deactivate your account on this popular messaging application. Looking for an alternative to Kik? Check out our top iOS and Android messaging apps.
There is a distinction between temporarily deactivating an account and permanently removing it, which Kik refers to as temporary versus permanent deactivation. Temporarily deactivating your account means you will temporarily cease receiving Kik messages and emails, your username will no longer be searchable, and your name will be removed from your contacts’ lists. However, you can reactivate your account by signing in again. To deactivate or permanently remove your account, visit the Kik website from your mobile device or computer. You can visit the correct web page on your mobile device by using the app’s Help section and searching for “Delete Account”
Permanent deactivation signifies the permanent deletion of a Kik account. After deletion, data cannot be recovered. You will never again receive messages or emails from Kik. No one will be able to search for you on the platform, and your username and profile will be permanently removed from the contact lists of your friends. Once you deactivate or delete your account permanently, you will no longer be able to access your contact information or message history. If you wish to use the service in the future, you will need to re-register with a new email address.
Kik makes it easy to quit
- Make sure you know the email address you used to sign up for the service.
- Enter the correct information on Kik’s permanent deactivation website.
- Kik will send you an email with a link to permanently deactivate your account.
- If you or someone you know has searched for or sent messages to your account, your profile will be cached on their device, so it may take a few days to disappear off their device.
- Anyone else searching for your username won’t find you.
- Remove or uninstall the app from your phone, just as you would any other app.
Parents can deactivate a teen’s account
When a teen’s account is deactivated, it will no longer be searchable within Kik, and it will be removed from the contacts lists of all of the teen’s chat partners. Parents must know their child’s username and email address used for account registration. Here’s how to locate a teenager’s username.
- A teen’s username is available from their smartphone by launching Kik, which opens the app to the main chats list.
- Tap the icon at the top of the screen to open the settings, where you can see both the teen’s username and bold-faced display name.
- If you chat with your teen from your own device, it’s easy to see their username from the chat.
There are no spaces in Kik usernames, and upper- and lowercase letters, numerals, and special characters can be combined. If the youngster has reset their Kik account, their username may be visible on the login screen. Kik recommends that parents watch their children’s Kik activity from their child’s device, rather than their own or any other device, because Kik does not exchange chat content across devices. Because of Kik’s privacy protections, their chat history will be instantly deleted. Kik does not see or store chats between users.
Parents can also disable their child’s account if they so choose. To do so, they must send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org with the subject line Parent Inquiry requesting deactivation. The request must include the Kik username and age of the teen.
There are numerous reasons why you might desire to leave Kik, and the firm has made it simple for you to do so. Kik allows parents to ban their child’s access to the app totally if necessary.